Orange County Slip and Fall Lawyers
We Are Here To Help You With Your Slip and Fall Accidents.
Whether you are in the grocery store, your local DMV, or viewing a home for sale, property owners and those that work for them must keep you safe. They must promptly clean up spills, make repairs to damaged flooring, and remove or warn of other hazards that may exist. If you were injured in a slip and fall accident, a skilled Orange County slip and fall attorney might be able to help you recover money for your damages.
Slip and Fall Accident Liability
An essential task of your slip and fall lawyer in Santa Ana Orange County is to determine who could be liable for your injuries. In some accidents, it could be more than one person or entity. One of the following circumstances must exist in order for someone to be liable for your slip and fall accident:
- The owner of the premises or an employee must have caused the spill, worn or torn flooring, or another slippery or dangerous surface to exist
- The owner of the premises or an employee knew about the unsafe surface but failed to take action such as correcting the danger or placing warning signs near it
- The owner of the premises or an employee should have been aware of the unsafe surface because a reasonable person caring for the property would have discovered and removed or repaired it
If any of those situations are true in your case, you may be owed compensation from the negligent party or their property insurance company. This is because the property owner or an agent working for them failed to act when a dangerous condition was present. They likely could have prevented your accident, but they failed to do so. Keep in mind, however, that in some cases, plaintiffs can contribute to the circumstances that caused their injuries, such as wearing the wrong footwear or being under the influence of alcohol.
Statute of Limitations for Slip and Fall Cases
It is imperative that those injured in a slip and fall case contact a Santa Ana Orange County California slip and fall lawyer as soon as possible. Not only can substantial evidence be lost or compromised, but injured individuals only have a specific amount of time to file their case with the court. This time limit is known as the statute of limitations.
Under California Code of Civil Procedure § 335.1, if you are injured in a slip and fall accident and want to file a lawsuit or have an attorney file one for you, you must do so within two years of the date of the accident. Waiting until this deadline passes will be significantly detrimental to your case as it can preclude you from seeking compensation for any damages you might have incurred in your slip and fall accident. You should always seek the advice of a knowledgeable lawyer right away to find out when you should file your case.
Get Help from a Knowledgeable Slip and Fall Attorney in Orange County, California
To understand more about the legal aspects of your accident and receive answers to your questions, schedule a case consultation with us. At Hess & Nghiem, we know that accidents don’t just happen during business hours, so we are available by phone 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Call us at (657) 333-5726 or use our online contact form today to get in touch.