Uninsured Motorist Accident Attorneys in California
The costs of a car accident can be astronomical. From getting emergency treatment to going to multiple doctor’s appointments to missing out on work, a single collision can set you back months. Your best hope is to file a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company, but it can feel disheartening to learn they do not have insurance. However, you should not give up hope, as a skilled Santa Ana auto accident lawyer can show you how to get compensation for your injuries.
If you were injured by an uninsured driver, we encourage you to reach out to us at HN Injury Lawyers. Our team of Santa Ana uninsured motorist accident attorneys have more than 50 years of combined experience helping accident victims get proper compensation for their injuries. We can review the nature of your accident and all available insurance policies to explain your options. Call us today at (657) 333-5726 for a free consultation.
All California drivers are required by state law to have minimum liability coverage on their vehicles, which include:
- $15,000 for a single injured party
- $30,000 for more than one injured party
- $5,000 for property damage
When a car accident occurs, drivers must exchange insurance information so that they can both file claims with each other’s insurance company. Driving without insurance is illegal and can result in serious fines and license suspensions.
Another major type of coverage offered to drivers is uninsured motorist (UM) underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. Both UM and UIM coverage must match your minimum liability policy and can be increased if you have more liability coverage.
Insurance companies are required by law to offer these policies to you when you sign up for insurance, and you can only reject this coverage in writing. As a result, many drivers automatically have UM and UIM coverage, which can have a major role in your accident claim.
Following a car accident, your first option is to file a claim with the other driver’s insurance company. However, if a driver does not have insurance, you may need to file an UM claim. UM claims provide coverage for two scenarios:
- When an at-fault driver does not have auto insurance; and
- When an at-fault driver cannot be found, such as in a hit-and-run accident
With a UM claim, rather than going through the at-fault driver’s insurance, you can file a claim with your insurance company to get compensation. This will follow the same process as a standard car accident claim, and you will be able to file up to your own liability policy limit. If you have minimum coverage under California state law, then your UM claim can recover up to $15,000 for your injuries at a minimum.
UIM coverage is paired with UM coverage and is equally as important. UIM coverage applies when an at-fault driver does not have enough insurance coverage to pay for the full costs of your injuries, making them “underinsured.” In these cases, if you have UIM coverage, you can make up the difference with your insurance company.
For example, let’s say that a driver rear-ends you at a red light. After getting treatment and taking time off work, your total costs may reach up to $30,000. If the other driver only has minimum coverage, than you will only be able to recover up to $15,000 in compensation. With a UIM claim, you can recover the remaining $15,000 through your own insurance company.
The value of UM and UIM coverage cannot be understated, but that does not mean the claims process is easy. When you file one of these claims, you make your own insurance company the at-fault party. Insurance companies will have to decide between paying out proper compensation for your injuries and hurting their profit margins. In almost every case they will choose to devalue, fight, or deny your claim.
Our team at HN Injury Lawyers are well-versed at dealing with dismissive insurance companies. We know you just want to get your bills paid and move on after a collision, which is why our Santa Ana injury lawyers take every step to get you the highest possible award in a claim. We can sit down with you in a free consultation, review all available insurance policies, and advocate for your best interests. If necessary, we will not hesitate to take your case to trial to get you proper compensation from a judge and jury.
Do not let an insurance company decide your worth. Let HN Injury Lawyers fight for your future just as we have for other accident victims throughout Santa Ana. Call us at (657) 333-5726 to get a free case evaluation.
Recent Case Results
- $250,000 - Uninsured Motorist Accident
- $100,000 - Rear-Ended by Underinsured Driver
- $20,000 - Uninsured Rear-end Accident
Click here to view more legal case results.